Chelsea L's Field Experience

Week 3- Feeling more comfortable

This week I would use one word to describe my experience: comfort.  Throughout the week, I felt much more at ease in front of the class and even started to learn a little bit more about my students preferred learning styles while trying out some new techniques.  I was also able to sit down with my CT for an hour and discuss different activities and ideas she suggested to incorporate in my unit plan and the rest of my teaching, as well as developing a schedule for the curriculum.  I feel more comfortable in other ways, too.  I feel that I am starting to gain an authority role with some of the students that I was having trouble with in prior weeks and my teacher commended me on that.  The process of getting students to sit in their seats and begin class quietly is becoming shorter and easier, which is also nice. 

As I turn in my unit plan and curriculum framework, I feel that in the next week I need to make sure I discuss any other issues or concerns I have with my teacher before moving into my full-time role at the middle school.  I would like to ask her a little more about behavioral issues, ask her opinions on changing the seating chart for potential group work activities, and also look into her grading routines so that I can properly create my own grading.  I may also create a note to send home to parents, informing them that I will be taking over soon, therefore creating open communication.  

I look forward to this new chapter in my experience and am ready for the challenge!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Week 3- Feeling more comfortable

  1. Chelsea, its really nice to see how you are feeling more and more comfortable in your role as teacher with this group of kids. It sounds like you made a lot of progress since last week! Good work!

Leave a Reply

